Finnigan's wins Pembroke Sportsmen's championship


It would take a shootout for Finnigan's to claim the `A' championship as the Pembroke Sportsmen's Hockey League wrapped up another season of Thursday night hockey.

Finnigan's faced off against EGM Insurance in the battle of the league leaders at the Pembroke Memorial Centre.

Finnigan's got off to an early start with a pair of goals in the first period, both courtesy of Jeff Gagne. He scored unassisted to get his team on the board, then scored his second of the evening with the assistance of Kris Gorr and Dan Shields.

Responding for EGM was Chris Jarvis, picking up the feed from Darryl McLaughlin and Jay Geddes in the first period.

With only 1:33 left in the second and last period of regulation time, EGM tied things up 2-2 thanks to a goal by Kevin St. Amour, with the assist going to Scott Mohns.

Heading into the shootout, it would take each side four tries to determine the winner, which would be Finnigan's. Scoring the winning goal was Jeff Gagne.

In the other finals, Shots blanked Summers Motors 2-0 to win the `B' championship.

Scoring for Shots was Brad Clouthier, who with the assist of John Turner and Gilles Moncion, would get the winning goal at 16:32 in the first period.

Cory Lacombe doubled the score at 2:37 in the second period, with assists from Terry Teasdale and Gilles Moncion.

In the `C' final, Eastway Irvcom downed the Pembroke Merchants 4-1 to take the championship.

Ed Cotnam started the scoring for Eastway Irvcon, with assists being earned by Joel Levasseur and Dan Levasseur.

In the second period, Mike Brideau scored from Joel Levasseur, Rob Levasseur scored with the assist of Carlo Pleau and Rob Dagenais, and Mike Yuke rounded out the scoring with an unassisted goal.

The sole goal for the Merchants was scored by Gary McRea, assisted by Brett Leishman.

Stephen Uhler is a Daily Observer multimedia journalist

Featured Businesses

Go to the Marketplace »