Sports High School Sports

Fellowes Falcons celebrate best in athleticism

By Sean Chase, The Daily Observer

It was a year of excellence in athleticism for Fellowes High School.

As the 2016-17 school year drew to its conclusion in June, students and staff gathered for Fellowes annual athletic awards banquet. Hosted by the Fellowes Athletic Council, this year's theme was the backyard barbecue with 150 parents, athletes and coaches attending.

During the festivities, Athletic Council co-presidents Melanie Weisenberg and Grace Hennessey, along with athletics teacher supervisor Tracy Gilchrist, thanked principal Dean Zadow for all of his support of the athletics and the high school's long list of extracurriculars throughout the past year.

While it was a year of tough competition and county championships with many coming home with provincial medals, the Athletic Council wished to express how proud they were of all of athletes who support the teams and each other whether or not there was a medal hanging around their neck.

Major sport awards were presented to the male and female athletes who demonstrated sportsmanship, fair play, leadership and commitment to training with a team or in an individual sport throughout the season. The athlete also played an integral role in contributing to the success of the team and excelled in sport.

In the top awards for 2016-17, Jake Huckabone and Izaiic Telford-Behm were named the Outstanding Second Year Senior Male Athletes, while Melanie Weisenberg was namd the Outstanding Second Year Senior Female Athlete. The Outstanding First Year Senior Male Athletes were Logan Mahoney and Darren Poirier, while Kacie Lafreniere was named the Outstanding First Year Senior Female Athlete.

Tyler Hartwick was named the Outstanding First Year Intermediate Male Athlete, while Eve Denault and Jordan Benedict were named the Outstanding First Year Intermediate Female Athletes. The Most Promising Junior Female Athlete was Nina Harle, while the Most Promising Junior Male Athlete was Elijah Morris.

Megan List received the Randy Schwantz Memorial, which is awarded to a senior athlete who excels in football or rugby and demonstrates a love of the game. Melanie Weisenberg received the Perry Collier Memorial, which is awarded to a senior athlete who best exemplifies sportsmanship, leadership, and athletic ability. The Bonnie Cochrane Memorial Award went to Emily Coulas and Kate Jennings.

The award is given to those senior athletes who have a dedicated commitment and love of sport.

The Mike Bennett Athletic Award of Excellence went to Tristan Fleming. The award is given to an athlete in their senior year who throughout their high school career has embodied enthusiasm and the love of sport. The student must have contributed to Fellowes athletics - both by participating in and organizing sports, as well as excelling in others, exemplified sportsmanship at every level and been a team player on and off the bench.

For each sport and grade, the most valuable players (MVP), most improved players (MIP), and most dedicated players (MDP), were recognized. In football, Jansen Campell was named MVP, while Noah Lenser was the MIP. In rugby, the MVP was Megan Lisk, was Grace Hennessey was named MDP. In cross-country, the MVP was Xavier Chingee. Clare Musclow was named MDP, while Paul Ethier was the MIP. The MVP for golf was Caelan Barber. Darren Summers was the MVP in tennis.

In junior boys volleyball, Tyler Hartwick was named MVP, while the MIP was Cole Wagner. In senior boys volleyball, Tristan Fleming and Izaiic Telford-Behm were named the MVPs. In junior girls basketball, Eve Denault was the MVP, while Nina Harle was named MIP. In senior girls basketball, Melanie Weisenberg was named MVP, while Kassie Cook was the MDP.

In junior boys basketball, Elijah Morris was named MVP, while Ben Huckabone was the MIP. In senior boys basketball, Logan Mahoney was named MVP, while Dylan Gauthier was the MDP. Kylie Maika and Alena Sloan were the MDPs in junior girl volleyball. In senior girls volleyball, Gabby Robinson was named MVP, while Mackenzie Tong was the MIP. Belle Bailey was the MDP in bantam girls volleyball.

Melanie Weisenberg, Eve Denault and Tyler Hartwick were the MVPs in track and field. In alpine skiing, Casey Williams was named MVP. Kate Jennings was the MDP, while Neil Jennings was the MIP. In nordic skiing, Jack Moryto was the MVP, while Liam Sonoski was named MDP. In snowboarding, Kassidy Wendt was the MVP, while Maddison Rabb was named MIP. In curling, Cole Lacroix-Lyon was named MVP, while Ben Brunatti was the MIP. In girls varsity hockey, Melanie Weisenberg was named MDP, while Jordan Benedict was named MIP.

In boys varsity hockey, Kyle Mathieu was named MVP, while Braeden Kouloheris was named Rookie of the Year. In badminton, the MDPs were Jana Lau, Belle Bailey, Tristan Fleming and Jordan Godin. In wrestling, Aliesha Ciphery was named MVP, while Liam Nicol was the MDP. In junior girls soccer, Nina Harle was named MDP, while Erin Jenner was the MIP. In senior girls soccer, Sonya Petermann was the MVP, while Olivia Vaughan was named MIP. In junior boys soccer, Neil Jennings was the MDP, while Hayden Hebert was the MIP. Jake Huckabone and Carter Obasohan were the MVPs in senior boys soccer.





Featured Businesses

Go to the Marketplace »