Sports High School Sports

The fastest runners in Renfrew County

By Sean Chase, The Daily Observer


LAURENTIAN VALLEY – It was perfect weather for the fastest elementary school runners in the Upper Ottawa Valley last week during the county's cross-country championships.

Hosted by the Renfrew County Elementary Interschool Athletic Association, the meet once more took place at Hugli's Blueberry Ranch, a venue that provided students with running trails lined with picturesque fall colours. Dominating the field again this year was Jeanne-Lajoie, who captured the titles for both grade 5 girls and boys and the grade 6 girls, while placing second in four other divisions.

In team points, Highview Public School won the grade 8 girls, while Bishop Smith Catholic High School was victorious in the grade 8 boys. Valour K-12 School won their first elementary cross-country championship take the grade 6 boys. Our Lady of Lourdes captured the grade 7 boys, while Deep River's St. Mary's Catholic School took home the trophy for the grade 7 girls division.

In the Grade 8 girls race, Bishop Smith's Abi Crossman crossed the finish line after a 2,475-metre dash taking first place with a time of 10 minutes, 20 seconds. She was followed in second place by Emily George, from Eganville and District Public School, and Heidi Hugli, from Highview, who took third. Rounding out the top 10 were Haley Maggio (Valour), Katherine Deighton (St. Mary's), Chloe Rook (Jeanne-Lajoie), Grace Summers (Rockwood Public School), Kylie Rieger (Highview), Skye Crouzat (Valour), and Emma Belanger (Jeanne-Lajoie).

Bishop Smith's Hunter Selle captured gold in the grade 8 boys with a time of 9:38. He was followed in second place by Jeanne-Lajoie's Noah Brennan and Blake Menard, from St. Mary's, in third place. Rounding out the top 10 were Koda Johnston (Eganville District), Malachi Quilty (Bishop Smith), Sam Steer (Mackenzie Community School), Jack Hillier (Jeanne-Lajoie), Casey Ventress (Bishop Smith), Matthias Von Witzleben (Jeanne-Lajoie), and Ryan Troop (Bishop Smith).

In the grade seven girls division, Mackenzie Community's Wren Rauliuk Dunn took first place in 10:54. She was followed by Tori Chartrand, from Pine View Public School, in second place, and Claire Bemister, from St. Francis of Assisi, in third place. Finishing in the top 10 were Payton Miller (St. Mary's), Abby Pleau (Champlain Discovery Public School), Reese Edwards (Rockwood), Mackenzie Summers (Jeanne-Lajoie), Olivia Borne (Rockwood), Cecelia Desjardins (Jeanne-Lajoie), and Sophie Procher (Jeanne-Lajoie).

Dylan Marleau, from St. Francis of Assisi, finished in first place in the grade 7 boys division with a time of 10:05. He was followed by Champlain Discovery's Nicholas TerMarsch, in second place, and Dalton Vansick, from Cobden District Public School, in third place. Rounding out the top 10 were Jesse Kenny (Lourdes), Nathaniel Levasseur (Ecole L'Equinoxe), Wyatt Davis (Cobden District), Nolan Ranger (Lourdes), Jacob VanCamp (Champlain Discovery), Hunter Cobus (Jeanne-Lajoie), and Thomas Wedesweiler (St. Francis).

In the grade 6 girls division, Jeanne-Lajoie's Gabrielle Massicotte claimed first place in 11:24. She was followed by Valour's Hailee Stinson, in second place, and Carlyn Brunette, from Our Lady of Sorrows, in third place. Finishing in the top 10 were Summer Cote-Clemens (Equinoxe), Emma Stuart (Jeanne-Lajoie), Gillian McClelland (Champlain Discovery), Cadence Dufour (Lourdes), Megan Morrow (Sorrows), Taylor Novosedlik (Valour), and Jamie Stewart (Cobden).

William Jacyno, from Cathedral Catholic School, came in first in the grade 6 boys division in 10:16. He was followed by Valour's Tyler Sparling, in second place, and Cobden's Aaron Coulas, in third place. Rounding out the top 10 were Riley Orr (Herman Street Public School), Noah Maggio (Valour), Chase Peck (Beachburg Public School), Caleb Rook (Jeanne-Lajoie), Braden Smaglinski (Cobden), William Milks (St. Mary's), and Ben Robinson (Pine View).

Cobden's Quinn Couglin captured first in the grade 5 girls run in 10:57. She was followed by Rockwood's Addison Robillard, in second place, and Jeanne-Lajoie's Kimara Neville, in third place. Finishing in the top 10 were Piper Stephenson (St. Mary's), Kelsey Moore (Champlain Discovery), Sadie Ferguson (Cobden), Marilou Morrisette (Jeanne-Lajoie), Reese Johnson (St. Francis), Katie Russell (Highview), and Alexie Belanger (Jeanne-Lajoie).

Clark Mason, from Our Lady of Sorrows, took first in the grade 5 boys run in 10:37. He was followed by Sorrows' Kyle Radford, in second place, and Eganville's Andy Copeland, in third place. Rounding out the top 10 were Maxime Dube (Jeanne-Lajoie), Logan Fleury (St. Mary's), Kenny Malachi (Lourdes), Cole Simard (Rockwood), Noah Walsh (Valour), Jason McIntyre (Cobden), and Lucas Pepin (Jeanne-Lajoie).


Featured Businesses

Go to the Marketplace »